Jagannatha Astakam

A simple outline.. Composed by Shankaracharya

Sujatha Ratnala
2 min readJun 25, 2023

Sometime last year, I was listening to this spirited energetic singing. The repeating phrase and few other words caught my attention.

Enjoy the visuals in the lyrics and the lovely song..

जगन्नाथः स्वामी
नयन_पथ_गामी
भवतु मे

May it be for me [भवतु मे] that जगन्नाथः स्वामी is the walker-in-the-pathway-of-eyes..नयन_पथ_गामी..

May it be for me that Janannatha Swamy is walker-in-the-pathway-of-eyes.. A poetic way of saying.. May he be my inner vision, my destination, and guide..

Sometimes.. By the bushes in at the banks of Yamuna, flows a gentle wave of music, delighting the lotus face of the overjoyed cowherd maids.

While he delights their blooming lotus faces like a hovering bee, his lotus feet delights the Gods..

May he be the path of my eyes..

A flute in his left arm, a peacock feather swirling on his crown, wrapped in a fine garment, and his leelas at Brindavan..

May he be the path of my eyes..

By the shores of the ocean, by the golden sands of Puri, with Balabadra and Subadra in between..

May he be the path of my eyes..

His kindness is vast like the ocean.. his aura is like the freshly bloomed water-laden cloud.. he has a blemishless lotus-like face.. he is worshipped by the Gods and Scriptures..

May he be the path of my eyes..

Mounting his chariot for rathayatra and visiting the streets.. People sing his glory. He is bandhu of all.. And the world his children..

May he be the path of my eyes..

I seek no wealth no people.. I seek you.. Take away my attachments and sins.. For sure, you take the needy in your refuge..

May he be the path of my eyes..

Samaasa trivia

नयन_पथ_गामी walker-in-the-pathway-of-eyes 1.1
Above is upapada samaasa, as the verb ‘gam’ is converted to a noun.. Like in kumba-kara : He who makes pots..

--

--

Sujatha Ratnala

I write.. I weave.. I walk.. कवयामि.. वयामि.. यामि.. Musings on Patterns, Science, Linguistics, Sanskrit et al..