MarugElarA.. O Raghava!

A Tyagaraja kriti

Sujatha Ratnala
2 min readApr 1, 2023

What a brilliant montage of advaita and bhakti ! Naamams in Sanskrit and dialog-like close talk in Telugu.. This song was popularized in the movie Saptapadi.

O Raghava!
Why this Veil? Why not you reveal?

Ayya! My master!
In my Innermost chambers of Contemplation..
I just realized that you are Everything..
Your eyes are the Sun and the Moon.. And you illumine and reveal the world!

O Absolute one!
You encompass this Universe.. You are everything moving and non-moving!

Ayya! My master!
My mind only seeks for You.
Why don’t you reveal and remove this Veil?

Grace me my Lord.. Your’s truly Tyagaraja

marugēlarā? O rāghavā!
O rāghavā! Why this Veil?

marugēla
O chara-achara-rūpa!
O parātpara!
O sūrya-sudhākara-lōchana!
O Embodiment of everything moving and not moving!
O Absolute One!
O He who has Sun and Moon for his eyes!

~

Tyagaraja’s dramatic style of expression..

anni nī vanuchu antaraṅgamuna
tinnagā vedaki telusukoṇṭi nayya

Ayya! My dear Mater!
When I searched deep within myself, I realised that Everything around is You alone..

anni nī vanuchu
Everything is You alone..

antaraṅgamuna
In my inner quarters of Contemplation

tinnagā vedaki
Having searched there directly

telusukoṇṭi nayya
Ayya!
I realised this!

~

nenne gāni.. madini.. ennajāla norula
nannu brōvavayya tyāga rājanuta

But for you.. This Mind does not want any other..
Ayya! Grace me.. You are worshipped by this Tyagaraja!

marugēlarā ō rāghavā! 

marugēla charā-chara-rūpa
parātpara sūrya-sudhākara-lōchana

anni nī vanuchu antaraṅgamuna
tinnagā vedaki telusukoṇṭi nayya

nenne gāni madini ennajāla norula
nannu brōvavayya tyāga rājanuta

--

--

Sujatha Ratnala

I write.. I weave.. I walk.. कवयामि.. वयामि.. यामि.. Musings on Patterns, Science, Linguistics, Sanskrit et al..