Nada tanum anisham.. Ode to the Sounds.. A Tyagaraja Kriti

Some Spotlight on the Sanskrit Words

Sujatha Ratnala
2 min readApr 1, 2023

In a brilliant symphony of words, Tyagaraja praises Shankara who is the embodiment of Sounds itself..

There are just about a dozen words in this song. Tyagaraja has tucked in a series of vivid descriptions and naamams into the magic of compound words. And this style elevates the listening experience in my opinion.

I have taken some references from Nivedita Bhagini’s blog, which does a thankless service in spreading the Knowledge of Sanskrit.

नाद-तनुमनिशं शङ्करं नमामि मे मनसा शिरसा
I constantly bow down to Shankara.. who is the embodiment of primordial sounds.. with all my mind and head!

नाद-तनुम्
Embodiment of naada

अनिशम्
Constantly

शङ्करं नमामि मे.. मनसा शिरसा
I bow to Shankara.. with all my mind and head..

I constantly bow down to Shankara.. who is the embodiment of primordial sounds.. with all my mind and head!

मोदकर-निगमोत्तम-साम-वेद-सारं वारं वारम्

वारं वारम्
Again and Again (I bow down to Shankara)

मोदकर-निगमोत्तम-साम-वेद-सारं
Who is always Joyful मोदकर.. expert in the Scriptures निगमोत्तम.. and is the essence of the Saama Veda साम-वेद-सारं

Again and Again.. (I bow down to Shankara).
Who is always Joyful.. expert in the Scriptures.. and is the essence of the Saama Veda

सद्योजातादि-पञ्च-वक्त्रज-स-रि-ग-म-प-ध-नि-वरसप्तस्वर-विद्या-लोलं विदलित-कालं विमल-ह्रदय-त्यागराज-पालं

I bow down to this Shankara.

सद्योजातादि-पञ्च-वक्त्रज-स-रि-ग-म-प-ध-नि-वरसप्तस्वर-विद्या-लोलम्

With the dimensions of his 5 heads called sadyojaata etc सद्योजातादि-पञ्च-वक्त्रज, He generates the supreme 7 notes स-रि-ग-म-प-ध-नि-वरसप्तस्वर and revels in this knowledge विद्या-लोलम्

विदलित-कालम्
He crushes the passage of time and even Yama Raja

विमल-ह्रदय-त्यागराज-पालम्
He is the care taker of this soft hearted Tyagaraja!

I bow down to this Shankara.

References

Singing by the Ranjani Gayatri sisters
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7jVB8d1vOmg

Detailed Sanskrit Meaning
https://nivedita2015.wordpress.com/2018/02/15/kruti-nadatanumanisham-thyagaraja

--

--

Sujatha Ratnala

I write.. I weave.. I walk.. कवयामि.. वयामि.. यामि.. Musings on Patterns, Science, Linguistics, Sanskrit et al..