Ode to the Food

Sujatha Ratnala
2 min readApr 16, 2020

Counting the blessings.. Bhojana Mantra from Gita.. Lockdown Diaries

I came across these beautiful verses in my Yoga training camp. Before every meal we would chant.. It took me a while to register the words and a long long time to understand the meaning of those beautiful words.

How fitting it is to invoke that beautiful feeling at the current times. When there is that extra bit of time to pause and look inward.. May be someday while drawing the curtains up in the morning.. May be someday while lighting the lamp or making that loving meal for the family. A friend had recently expressed her worry over food and I had shared this to comfort her.

Elena Elisseeva/shutterstock/AFP

The offering of food into the kilns of our digestion..

Brahmārpañam Brahma Havir Brahmāgnau Brahmanahutham
Brahmaiva Tena Gantavyam Brahmakarmā Samadhinah

The act of offering is Brahma. The offering and the ladle is Brahma. By Brahma it is offered into the Fire of Brahma.

He attains Brahma who is engrossed in tasks performing for Brahma.

ahaṁ vaiśhvānaro bhūtvā prāṇināṁ deham āśhritaḥ
prāṇāpāna-samāyuktaḥ pachāmy annaṁ chatur-vidham

I am the digestive fire present in the living beings. By churning the breath, I help in digestion .. and assimilation of all kinds of food.

He is there in the light of the Sun and Moon.. in the Earth, Fire and Food.. in the digestion and assimilation inside us.. All along he is there..

https://youtu.be/WdrXxnUDkzQ

--

--

Sujatha Ratnala

I write.. I weave.. I walk.. कवयामि.. वयामि.. यामि.. Musings on Patterns, Science, Linguistics, Sanskrit et al..