Rama! Kodanda Rama!

Spotlight on Telugu words in this Tyagaraja Kriti..

Sujatha Ratnala
2 min readMar 28, 2023

I was listening to this soulful kriti in the beautiful voice of Tryakshari Venkataraju.

The intense river of bhakti is flowing by the pebbles of the Rama Naamas, and by the woods of the Telugu, from the heartland of Tyagaraja..

An intense dialog style of You Rama.. your path.. and I.. My path is seen through the verses.. Nee.. Naa..

Some spotlight on the Telugu diction.. Hope you listen and enjoy the words!

O Kodanda Rama!
O Kalyana Rama !
O Sita Pati!
O Bhakta Samaaja!

O Majestic One holding your bow.. O Auspicious One.. O Compassionate One!
You are my gati! You are my destination!

nIku mrokkiti
nee chE jikkiti
I bow to you.. I hold your hand..

nEku evaru jODu?
krIgaNTa jUDu
Who else dare equal to you? Glance at me for once..

nEnu nI vADu..
nAtO mATADu
I belong to you.. Talk to me for once!

nAmamE mElu..
chintanE chAlu
rAma rAyaDE chAlu
Your name is good.. Your thoughts are enough.. Your blessings are enough!

nI oka mATa
nAkOka mUta
Your one word.. is my bag of treasure!

nE pATE pATa
nI bATE bATa
Your song is the song.. Your way is the way..

Lyrics

rAma kOdaNDa rAma kalyANarAma
rAma sItApati rAma nIvE gati rAma nIku mrokkiti rAma nIcE jikkiti
rAma nIkevaru jODu rAma krIgaNTa jUDu rAma nIvADu rAma nAtO mATADu
rAma nAmamE mElu rAma cintanE cAlu rAma nIvu nannElu rAma rAyadE cAlu
rAma nIdokamATa rAma nAkOkamUt rAma nIpatE pATa rAma nI bATE bATa
rAma nEnandainanu rAma vErencalEnu rAma ennadainanu rAma bAyakalEnu
rAma virAja rAja rAma mukhajita rAja rAma bhakta samAja rakSita tyAgarAja

References

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxaFVBUppf8

http://chicagotyagarajautsavam.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/CTU-2013-DNS-Lyrics.pdf

--

--

Sujatha Ratnala

I write.. I weave.. I walk.. कवयामि.. वयामि.. यामि.. Musings on Patterns, Science, Linguistics, Sanskrit et al..