The Case of the Traveling Monk

Sujatha Ratnala
2 min readOct 22, 2019

When languages choose to travel and play hide-n-seek

A game of wordplay and time travel. Get ready with your detective lens and discover the link.

“You know my methods, Watson. There is a pattern.”

“I see some numbers”

aat, nav, das -Octagon, Nonagon, Decagon -October, November, December

“Excellent! I cried. “Elementary,” said he.

“I see some feet”

paada, pedal, centipede, pedestrian

“I see some stillness. I sense immobility”

Sthithi, Afghani-stan, stationary, statue, still

“I sense some Gravity. It could be Dense.”

Guru, Gruha, Gravity, Grove, Grind, Af-ghan-isthan

“I see some binding. I sense some logic and order.”

lagaan, Lego, religion, law, logic, ligament, dyslexia

“I see the bizarre. I see no sense”.

“I see some city. I see lip transformation.”

Tripura, Puri, Nagpur, Edinburgh, Stanford, Pittsburgh

“I see some lustre.. I see some shine”

Arjuna, Argentina, Argentine, Argon

“I see some light. I see enlightenment”

Subash, Sufi, Sophia, Sapiens, Philosophy, Phosphorus, Sophomore. Bharat and Hagia Sophia.. THe SHining LAnds.

“I smell some fruit. I see many hops.”

Amra Phala, Mangai, Mangifera Indica, Mango

“I sense some fire.. I see some transformations.”

homa, ahuthi, havis, hotra, holo-caust, chemi-stry, al-chemy

“The rodent shape it seems”

“The soul cannot be cleaved.. Nainam chindanthi Shastrani- Gita” “Precision and Boundaries of Cutting edge Technology”

Mushika, Moscow, Musk deer, Muscle, Mouse

Chit, Chaitanya, Chindanthi, scISSORS, decision, concise, precise, genocide, shit, science, schizophrenia, conscious

“When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth?”

“I see the truth, I see the evolution.”

REFERENCE

Etymology Posts from James Cooper Robinson and Dr Sampadananda Mishra

--

--

Sujatha Ratnala

I write.. I weave.. I walk.. कवयामि.. वयामि.. यामि.. Musings on Patterns, Science, Linguistics, Sanskrit et al..