Wisdom of Rumi

A few quotes and some parallels

Sujatha Ratnala
3 min readJan 22, 2021

After hearing to ‘The Alchemist’ audio book, I was listening to the Arabic and the Andulasian music which landed me into Rumi.

Rumi’s quotes are short, soulful and some of them strike deep chords with the teachings of Gita and Vedanta. Manifestation of the divinity across space and time I guess.

“Raise your words, not voice. It is rain that grows flowers, not thunder.”

A recent tirukural that I came across “To say disagreeable things when agreeable are at hand is like eating unripe fruit when there is ripe.”

“Silence is the language of God. Everything else is an approximation”

nish-kalam-aham | undescribable | Shankaracharya’s Pratah Smaraami

“Do not feel lonely.. Entire world is inside you”

“In the loom of time, we stage the characters of youth, middle aged and aged just like the change of wardrobe.. And the wise man is not astonished.” Bhagawad Gita

“How wonderful it is that in the limitless ocean of myself the waves of living beings arise, collide, play and disappear, according to their natures.”-Astavakra Gita

All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players: They have their exits and their entrances; And one man in his time plays many parts.”-Shakespeare

“I have inside me the winds, the deserts, the oceans, the stars, and everything created in the universe. We were all made by the same hand, and we have the same soul. “- Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

“Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.”

“The wound is the place where the light enters you.”

“Four kind of people seek for me. Those in distress and pain, the seekers of knowledge, the seekers of material posessions and the Gyaanis.” | Gita 7.16

Perhaps the rasas and emotions of Krishna Leela depict these stories of the surge of emotion followed by surrender and peace.

“You were born with wings, why prefer to crawl through life?”

“Set your life on fire. Seek those who fan your flames.”

“What you seek is seeking you.”

“It is your light that lights the worlds.”

light of lights’ | Brihadaranyaka Upanishad

Your heart is the size of an ocean. Go find yourself in its hidden depths.”

“Love is the bridge between you and everything.”

Faith and love is the bridge that provides knowledge and eternal bliss | śhraddhāvān labhate jñānaṁ .. parāṁ śhāntim .. ādhigachchhati | Gita 4.39

“Stop acting so small. You are the universe in ecstatic motion. When will you begin that long journey into yourself”

“I am not this hair, I am not this skin, I am the soul that lives within.”

NIRVANA SHATAKAM ~ chidananda roopam shivoham shivoham

“The beauty you see in me is a reflection of you.”

Story of The Princess of Kashi
“This world is a mirror”

REFERENCES

  1. Rumi | Arrival of Winter | Buddha’s Longue | Youtube
  2. Rumi Quotes

--

--

Sujatha Ratnala

I write.. I weave.. I walk.. कवयामि.. वयामि.. यामि.. Musings on Patterns, Science, Linguistics, Sanskrit et al..